Program & Courses

The Political Science program at the Graduate Center, CUNY consists of a community of scholars dedicated to the tasks of acquiring, expanding, and transmitting reliable knowledge about political phenomena. Its essential function is to educate professional political scientists, capable of independent research and qualified for careers in academic institutions, government agencies, non-profit organizations, and the private sector.
Students in the Political Science program are trained to become professional political scientists. Students develop a substantive knowledge of politics and increase their analytical and critical skills. The program offers an M.A., an en-route M.A. to the Ph.D. students, and a Ph.D.
The Political Science Program features courses in five subfields:
• American Politics
• Comparative Politics
• International Relations
• Political Theory
• Public Policy
Each subfield has its own set of areas of interest. Courses of study and majors and minors in the doctoral program are defined in terms of these fields. In addition to the subfields, students may choose subfields of their own design in consultation with the Executive Officer.
Doctoral candidates will conduct research, attend seminars, and have additional training opportunities through the program’s affiliation with several research centers and institutes, and publications. They will also have opportunities to gain teaching experience at CUNY colleges, preparing students for careers as college and university teachers.
In addition, students can specialize in Writing Politics, which trains them to write serious political analysis for audiences outside of the discipline. While the Ph.D. and M.A. Programs feature a diversity of approaches, all students are expected to specialize in and develop an understanding of the discipline as a whole.


Jack Jacobs, Acting Executive Officer
Spring 2023 Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM. By appointment.

Peter Romaniuk Deputy Executive Officer
Spring 2023 Office Hours:

• Mondays, 3-5pm (via Zoom; Meeting ID 839 9320 4723; password O.H.Spr.23)
• Wednesdays, 3-5pm (in person)
• By appointment (please email to schedule a meeting)

Forrest Colburn, M.A. Advisor
Spring 2023 Office Hours: By Appointment Only

Robyn Marasco Program Admissions Chair
Spring 2023 Office Hours: By Appointment Only

Earl Fleary, Academic Program Officer
Spring 2023 Office Hours:  In Person (Monday, Wednesday & Thursday (9:30am-5:30pm))/ Remote (Tuesday & Friday (9:30am-5:30pm))

Theresa Moses, College Assistant
Spring 2023 Office Hours: Tuesdays-Thursdays, 10AM-4PM.

Skip to toolbar