Graduate Student Conference – Friday 3/8 9:30am-4:30pm

The Political Science Department Annual Graduate Student Conference

Friday, March 8, 9:30am-4:30pm

Schedule of events:
9.30 Breakfast
10.00 Panel 1 – Political Theory: Identity, Marxism and the State in the 21st Century
Peter Bratsis – Discussant
Abegail Dobson – Calling for a Politics of Recognition: The Intersectionality of Race, Gender and Class and Homelessness Discourse
Matt Mautarelli – Blackness/Marxism/Identity: Tracing the Political Theory of Afro-Pessimism
Bruce Bernstein – Ralph Miliband’s New Marxist Theory of the State vs. Post-Marxist Structuralist Theory of the Early 21st Century
11.15 Break
11.30 Panel 2 – Comparative Politics. Democracy, War and Policy
Nayma Qayum – Discussant
Dean Schafer – Deconsolidation of Democratic Attitudes: How Wealth and Nationalism Explain Support for an Unencumbered Leader in Turkey.
Aaron Stanley – Carpe Diem and War: Somali opportunism as the cause of the Ogaden War (1977-78)
Ankita Aggarwal – Understanding the Passage of India’s National Rural Employment Guarantee Act
12.45 Lunch
1.45 Panel 3 – International Relations. Nationalism, Narco-messaging and Cyber Security
Shawna M. Brandle – Discussant
Ayse Obali – Content Matters: Understanding the Identity Shift from Religion to Nationalism in AKP’s Electoral Base
Philip Johnson – The Medium is the Narco-message: Analysis of Criminal Communication in Mexico
Tyson Himes – American Digital Election Infrastructure: Can the Estonian Model Better Secure American Elections?
3.00 Break
3.15 Panel 4 – Grappling with American Politics: From City Hall to the White House
Margaret Groarke – Discussant
Alyssa Filoramo – Education Policy: Equity in New York and Toronto
Rebecca Krisel – de Blasio must prove that ThriveNYC is an inclusive, successful, and worthwhile program
Chris Putney – The American Presidency in the Twenty-First Century: The Problem of Institutional Partisanship and the Necessity of a New Systemic Theory
4.30 Reception

We look forward to a lively discussion!

Sponsored by Team Pegasus and the DSC